Company History

THE National Bank opened its doors for business with $90 million in assets and a passion for community banking. Started in 2001 by founders Perry Hansen, Doug Kratz and other local business leaders, THE National Bank established its headquarters in Bettendorf, Iowa, at Duck Creek Shopping Center. The bank maintained branches in Savanna and Mount Carroll, Illinois, from its merger with First Illinois National Bank.

From its humble beginnings, THE National Bank added branches in Moline (at City Line Plaza), Sterling, Canton and Havana, Illinois and in Davenport, Iowa (at Jersey Ridge and 53rd Street). While already one of the fastest growing banks in the Midwest, in 2006 THE National Bank acquired Metrobank, N.A., headquartered in East Moline, Illinois, to become the Quad Cities' largest community owned and operated bank. That same year THE National Bank also commenced business in the Fox Valley. A LEED certified location opened in Elgin in 2010. With 19 total branches, over 30 ATMs and seven-day per week banking at three branches, THE National Bank sets itself apart from the competition.

With talented local bankers at each location, THE National Bank demonstrates its commitment to the communities we serve. THE National Bank saw a similar opportunity to bring community-oriented banking to the Milwaukee Market when it acquired First Wisconsin Bank in Brookfield. That bank is now operated as a branch of THE National Bank and has relocated to Pewaukee at the intersection of Highway 164 and County Road M.

In October 2013, the parent company of THE National Bank, National Bancshares, Inc., was acquired by Triumph Bancorp, Inc. As a member of the Triumph Bancorp, Inc. group, THE National Bank will continue to meet and exceed the needs of our customers and community.